A "brief" RTW Report

Status
Not open for further replies.

docjames

Qantas
Platinum
Ok, so i'm no prose expert, nor do I have time to do a drron or QF009 or skyring-style report. But i will give a brief rundown on our RTW over the last month. The purpose of the trip (apart from some time away from work) was to see friends in various locations. We were going to fly QF/OW whatever the final destination (within reasonable pricing reason) in the hope of upgrades. Our destinations to visit friends were London, Norwich, London again, Munich (Oktoberfest), Abu Dhabi and Singapore. I wanted to add Stuttgart if we were already doing Germany (Porsche and Mercedes Museums). Once we'd added these combos together, a RTW fare was going to be easiest (to be honest, probably not massively cheaper than if we'd mixed and matched individual flights, but it was just easier. And a bit of fun. So we added NYC and Hong Kong (as there's no OW flights from either AUH or DXB to SIN.

Final flights booked:
BNE-LAX-JFK, (QF15/107)
JFK-LHR, (BA178)
LHR-STR, (BA920)
MUC-LHR, (BA957)
LHR-AUH, (BA73)
DXB-HKG, (CX738)
HKG-SIN, (CX 711)
SIN-BNE (QF52)

All booked in Y (L) but upgrade requests were put in via a relative's CL membership at T-90. Thanks to good advice here at AFF mrsdoc was excited as we could have two bags each, which meant more shopping as we only left with one bag each. Having preselected seating (incl exit rows and all BA flights except 178) we were ready.